Medinah: last entry

It’s the last time that I sit inside Masjidun Nabawey. At least for this journey of hajj. I thought that I would be experiencing deep emotions- sadness, anxiety, total withdrawal. But to my amazement, I am completely calm.

 

I visited the Rawdah and the kabr for the last time to say my farewell greeting last night and I knew that it would be a while before I returned, insha Allah. Despite it all I am ready to embark on the next step of my journey: my first umrah.

 

Excitement gurgles inside me just as I think about seeing the kabah for the first time, completing my first umrah, the five days of hajj. Ultimately this is the reason that I made this journey, that I left my two-year old daughter, my home, my family and my job, for seven weeks: to ‘labayk’ in the presence of my Lord.

 

I don’t know if it’s normal to be feeling excitement instead of compete sadness to be leaving Medinah. I don’t know how I’m supposed to part with Medinah- the proper etiquette as taught by a learned shaiykh. All I know is that I am ready for Makkah!

 

I am ready to chant: “Here I am, oh Allah, here I am.” I am ready to be washed clean of my sins, I am ready for my heart to be cleansed, my book of deeds to be cleansed, and my life to start on a clean note.

 

It is up to Allah to accept my lame attempts at worship, but I have faith and hope in His Acceptance, and in His Mercy. May He take us there safely, hearts bursting with hope, joy, love and at peace. “Labayk Allah huma labayk!”

Leave a Reply

